CDC’s Gynecologic Cancer Awareness Campaign campaign background
Advanced Search
Select up to three search categories and corresponding keywords using the fields to the right. Refer to the Help section for more detailed instructions.
Clear All

CDC’s Gynecologic Cancer Awareness Campaign campaign background

Filetype[PDF-2.24 MB]

  • Description:
    The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention’s (CDC) Inside Knowledge: Get the Facts About Gynecologic Cancer campaign informs women and health care providers about the five main types of gynecologic cancer: cervical, ovarian, uterine, vaginal, and vulvar. Gynecologic cancer is any cancer that starts in a woman’s reproductive organs. Each year, about 71,500 women in the U.S. are diagnosed with a gynecologic cancer and approximately 26,500 women die from one. While gynecologic cancers are often discussed as a group, each is unique and has different signs, symptoms, risk factors, and prevention strategies. Developed and implemented by CDC’s Division of Cancer Prevention and Control in collaboration with the Department of Health and Human Services’ Office on Women’s Health, Inside Knowledge raises awareness about each of the main gynecologic cancers. Campaign resources are available in both English and Spanish. Inside Knowledge supports the Gynecologic Cancer Education and Awareness Act of 2005, or Johanna’s Law. The law is named for Johanna Silver Gordon, who died of ovarian cancer in 2000. cdc_gyn_backgrounder_10_f.pdf
  • Main Document Checksum:
  • File Type:
  • Supporting Files:
    No Additional Files
No Related Documents.

You May Also Like: