Welcome to CDC stacks |
Stacks Logo
Advanced Search
Select up to three search categories and corresponding keywords using the fields to the right. Refer to the Help section for more detailed instructions.
Clear All Simple Search
Advanced Search
World Trade Center Health Program
  • Published Date:
    July 2018
  • Series:
    DHHS publication ; no. (NIOSH) 2018-143
  • Language:
Filetype[PDF-973.64 KB]

  • Description:
    "The World Trade Center (WTC) Health Program is a Division in the National Institute for Occupational Safety and Health (NIOSH). The WTC Health Program was established when the James Zadroga 9/11 Health and Compensation Act of 2010 became law in January 2011. The Act continued medical benefits for NYC responders and survivors; expanded benefits to responders in Shanksville, Pennsylvania, and at the Pentagon; and established an advisory committee and research program. In December 2015, Congress reauthorized the WTC Health Program for 75 years, ending in 2090. The WTC Health Program currently has over 86,000 members of which more than 43,000 members receive care for at least one certified WTC-related health condition. The WTC Health Program provides high-quality medical monitoring and treatment for responders to the September 11, 2001, terrorist attacks in New York City, at the Pentagon, and near Shanksville and for survivors in the New York City Disaster Area. Because of their exposure to airborne toxins and other hazardous conditions arising from the 9/11 terrorist attacks, responders and survivors now confront serious physical and mental health issues, including cancer. The program covers the following common health conditions among members: 1. Chronic rhinosinusitis. 2. Gastroesophageal reflux disease. 3. Asthma. 4. Sleep apnea. 5. Cancer. 6. Post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD). 7. Chronic respiratory disorder (fumes/vapors). 8. WTC-exacerbated chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). 9. Depression. 10. Anxiety disorder The program provides medical benefits to eligible responders and survivors to monitor, evaluate, and treat specific WTC-related health conditions through seven Clinical Centers of Excellence in the New York metropolitan area and through a Nationwide Provider Network in all 50 states and U.S. territories." - NIOSHTIC-2 NIOSHTIC no. 20052186
  • Main Document Checksum:
  • Supporting Files:
    No Additional Files
No Related Documents.
You May Also Like: