

Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)

MENU >



Travelers Prohibited from Entry to the United States

Updated Sept. 14, 2020

Print

Several Presidential proclamations established restrictions on the entry of certain travelers into the United States in an effort to help slow the spread of coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19).



With specific exceptions, foreign nationals who have been in any of the following countries during the past 14 days may not enter the United States. For a full list of exceptions, please refer to the relevant proclamations in the links below.

- China ☑
- Iran [⁴]
- European Schengen area
 ☐ (Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Monaco, San Marino, Vatican City)
- United Kingdom [4] (England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland)
- Republic of Ireland
- Brazil 🗹

As further provided in each proclamation, citizens and lawful permanent residents of the United States, certain family members, and other individuals who meet specified exceptions [2], who have been in one of the countries listed above in the past 14 days will be allowed to enter the United States. More information about what to do after arriving to the United States is available on CDC's After You Travel webpage.

Last Updated Sept. 14, 2020

Content source: National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases (NCIRD), Division of Viral Diseases