Centers for Disease Control and Prevention National Center for Immunization and Respiratory Diseases



Herpes Zoster Vaccination Update: Introduction

ACIP Meeting June 26, 2019

Kelly Moore, MD ACIP Chair, Zoster Working Group

2019 Herpes Zoster Work Group

ACIP Members	Kelly Moore, MD (Chair)	
	Grace Lee, MD	
Ex Officio Members	Paula Agger, MD, MPH	FDA
	Rebecca Reindel, MD	FDA
	Jeffrey Cohen, MD	NIH
	Jeffrey Kelman, MD	CMS
Liaison		
Representatives	Jeffrey Duchin, MD	NACCHO
	Mary Pat Friedlander, MD	AAFP
	Adam Welch, PharmD	APhA
	William Schaffner, MD	NFID
	Kenneth Schmader, MD	AGS
	Sandra Fryhofer, MD	AMA/ACP
	Mark Netoskie, MD, MBA	AHIP
	Lynn Bahta, RN, PHN	AIM

Invited Consultants		
Robin Avery, MD		
Ed Belongia, MD		
Al Benson, MD		
Paul Cieslak, MD		
Jeffrey Curtis, MD, MPH		
Jay Fishman, MD		
Rafael Harpaz, MD		
Samuel Katz, MD		
Vicki Morrison, MD		
Steven Pergam, MD		
Lisa Prosser, PhD		
CDC Liaison		
Kathleen Dooling, MD		

Herpes Zoster WG Activities

 October 2017- ACIP voted to recommend Recombinant Zoster Vaccine (RZV) to adults ≥50 years

- June 2018 plans to monitor safety, effectiveness, and uptake of RZV
- Feb 2019 preliminary results of uptake and safety, including a statistical signal for GBS

Today's presentation is a follow-up on results for RZV safety monitoring

Acknowledgements

- ACIP Herpes Zoster Work Group: Paula Agger, Robin Avery, Lynn Bahta, Edward Belongia, Al Benson, Paul Cieslak, Jeff Cohen, Jeff Curtis, Kathleen Dooling, Jeff Duchin, Jay Fishman, Mary Pat Friedlander, Sandra Fryhofer, Grace Lee, Rafael Harpaz, Sam Katz, Jeff Kelman, Vicki Morrison, Kelly Moore, Mark Netoskie, Steve Pergam, Lisa Prosser, Rebecca Reindel, Bill Schaffner, Ken Schmader, Adam Welch
- Zoster Work Group Liaison: Kathleen Dooling
- CDC + other contributors: Tom Clark, Amanda Cohn, Frank Destefano, Angela Guo, Theresa Harrington, Shainoor Ismail, Kathryn Ivy, Lisa Jackson, David Kim, Andrew Kroger, Mona Marin, Karen Mason, Susannah McKay, Jen Nelson, Ismael Ortega-Sanchez, Mark Pallansch, Manisha Patel, Sarah Poser, Coleman Rothstein, Jeanne Santoli, Tom Shimabukuro, Jeannette St. Pierre, Ray Strikas, John Su, Eric Weintraub