### **HPV Vaccine Session**

Joseph A. Bocchini, Jr., MD

Chair, ACIP HPV Vaccine Workgroup

Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices
Atlanta, GA
June 19, 2013

# ACIP HPV Vaccine Work Group Recent Activities

- Review of data
  - Quadrivalent HPV vaccine in pregnancy registry
  - Long term follow up data quadrivalent vaccine
  - HPV infection risk for research HPV laboratory workers
  - HPV infection risk for selected health care workers
- Planning for updating ACIP statement

## Plans for updated ACIP statement

- Develop ACIP statement to consolidate and update
  - 2007 Quadrivalent HPV vaccine ACIP statement females
  - 2009 Bivalent HPV vaccine Policy Note females
  - 2011 Quadrivalent HPV vaccine Policy Note males
- Updated statement to include
  - Female and male recommendations in one document
  - Reconciliation of wording differences

# Plans for updated ACIP statement

- Updates on
  - Burden of infection and cancers
  - Cervical cancer screening
  - HPV vaccine trial data
  - HPV vaccine safety data
- Other data
  - Research laboratory worker and health care workers

## **Future workgroup plans**

- Data on alternative schedules
  - Dobson (JAMA 2013) presented to ACIP June 2012
  - Other ongoing studies
- Review of new data from ongoing trials of current and second generation vaccines

#### **Outline of Session**

- Quadrivalent HPV vaccine in pregnancy registry
  - Dr. Fabio Lievano, Merck
- □ Plans for updated ACIP statement
  - Dr. Eileen Dunne, CDC
- □ HPV vaccine program and impact monitoring
  - Dr. Lauri Markowitz, CDC

## **ACIP HPV Vaccine Workgroup members**

#### **ACIP Members**

Joseph Bocchini (WG chair) Tamera Coyne-Beasley Renee Jenkins

#### Ex Officio Members

Carolyn Deal (NIH)
Bruce Gellin (NVPO)
Nancy Miller (FDA)
Jeff Roberts (FDA)

### CDC Designated Federal Officer Lauri Markowitz

#### **Liasion Representatives**

Sandra Fryhofer (ACP)
Amy Middleman (SAM)
James Turner (ACHA)
Shainoor Virani (PHA Canada)
Patricia Whitley-Williams (NMA)
Rodney Willoughby (AAP)
Jane Zucker (AIM)
Richard Zimmerman (AAFP)
Linda Eckert (AGOG)

#### **Invited Consultants**

Janet Englund Sam Katz Michael Marcy Debbie Saslow (ACS) Aimee Kreimer (NCI)