Anthrax Vaccine Work Group

David S. Stephens, MD, FIDSA ACIP Anthrax Vaccine Work Group

Advisory Committee for Immunization Practices October 24, 2018

ACIP Anthrax Work Group Members

ACIP Members: David Stephens, Chair; Robert L. Atmar; Sharon Frey

Ex Officio Members: Judy Hewitt (NIH); Amanda Zarrabian (BARDA); Alexandra Worobec (FDA); Eric Deussing (DOD); Kim Taylor (NIH); Chia-Wei Tsai (BARDA); Julianne Clifford (FDA)

Liaison Representatives: Richard Beigi (ACOG); Kathleen Neuzil (IDSA); James Campbell (AAP); Matthew Zahn (NACCHO)

Invited Consultants: Wendy Keitel; Arthur Friedlander; Phillip Pittman; Andy Pavia, Stacy Hall

CDC: William Bower, Lead

Anthrax Vaccine Work Group Activities

- □ Reconvened in March 2017
- Purpose
 - The US government stockpiles anthrax vaccine and antitoxin for postexposure prophylaxis (PEP) should there be a wide-area release of Bacillus anthracis spores
 - The work group considered the body of evidence since last review in 2010 for policy changes to optimize the use of anthrax vaccine for postexposure prophylaxis (PEP) following a widearea release of *Bacillus anthracis* spores
 - The work group is also reviewing the body of evidence for use of anthrax antitoxin for PEP when no effective antimicrobials are available

Today's session

 Informational session on new anthrax vaccine (AV7909) for postexposure prophylaxis

Informational session on anthrax antitoxin for postexposure prophylaxis