## Human Papillomavirus Vaccines Session

Allison Kempe, MD, MPH Chair, ACIP HPV Vaccines Work Group

Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices June 23, 2016

#### **Overview**

- ACIP HPV Vaccines Work Group is reviewing evidence on HPV vaccination 2-dose schedules
- HPV session at the February 2016 ACIP meeting focused on data from 2-dose immunobridging trials
- HPV session today will provide further evidence needed for consideration of 2-dose HPV vaccination schedules

# February 2016 ACIP HPV Vaccines Session

- Background on 2-dose schedules
- 9-valent HPV vaccine 2- vs 3-dose immunogenicity trial
  - Non-inferior immunogenicity with 2 doses (0, 6 months or 0, 12 months) in 9–14 year olds compared with 3 doses (0,2,6 months) in 15–26 year olds
  - sBLA submitted to FDA in early 2016
- Bivalent and quadrivalent HPV vaccine 2- vs 3 dose immunogenicity data
- HPV Vaccines Work Group plans

## ACIP HPV Vaccines Work Group Activities since February 2016

- Reviewed data on duration protection after HPV vaccination
- Reviewed data on post-licensure effectiveness studies
- Drafted policy questions
- Conducted systematic literature review and completed initial GRADE evaluation of evidence for 2-dose schedules
- Discussed considerations for recommendations

#### June 2016 ACIP HPV Vaccines session

- Duration of protection after HPV vaccination
  - Dr. Lauri Markowitz, CDC
- Modeling and cost-effectiveness of 2-dose schedules
  - Dr. Marc Brisson, Laval University
- Review of vaccine effectiveness studies
  - Dr. Sara Oliver, CDC
- GRADE for 2-dose schedules
  - Dr. Elissa Meites, CDC
- Considerations for recommendations
  - Dr. Lauri Markowitz, CDC

## ACIP HPV Vaccines Work Group

<u>ACIP Members</u> Allison Kempe (Chair) Cynthia Pellegrini Jose Romero

<u>Ex Officio Members</u> Carolyn Deal (NIH) Bruce Gellin (NVPO) Jeff Roberts (FDA) Sixun Yang (FDA)

<u>CDC Lead</u> Lauri Markowitz

#### Liaison Representatives

Shelley Deeks (NACCI) Linda Eckert (ACOG) Sandra Fryhofer (ACP) Amy Middleman (SAHM) Chris Nyquist (AAP) Sean O'Leary (PIDS) Margot Savoy (AAFP) Patricia Whitley-Williams (NMA) Jane Zucker (AIM)

<u>Consultants</u> Joseph Bocchini Tamera Coyne-Beasley John Douglas Sam Katz Aimee Kreimer (NCI) Debbie Saslow (ACS) Rodney Willoughby