

Meningococcal Vaccines Session

David S. Stephens, M.D.
Chair, Meningococcal Vaccines Work Group

Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices
June 22, 2017

Meningococcal Session, February 2017

- Discussed considerations for MenB booster doses for groups at increased risk for serogroup B meningococcal disease
- Concern about rapid decline in the immune correlate of protection (SBA) by 12 months
- Cases of serogroup B meningococcal disease after vaccination have not been reported in persons at increased risk, except for patients receiving eculizumab
- Additional data on antibody persistence and booster response needed

Additional Antibody Persistence and Booster Response Data

- MenB-4C (Bexsero®):
 - Persistence 4 years after 2-dose series, and immune response 3, 7 and 30 days after booster from Canadian and Australian adolescents, anticipated July 2017
 - Persistence up to 7 years after 2-dose series, and immune responses 3,
 7, and 30 days after booster from Chilean adolescents, anticipated
 September 2017
- MenB-FHbp (Trumenba®):
 - Persistence 1 year after booster dose, full data anticipated March 2018

Work Group Activities

- Work Group will review new data as it becomes available
- Complete GRADE evaluation for MenB boosters
- Will bring back to ACIP for consideration once additional data are evaluated and GRADE is complete

Today's Session

- Meningococcal disease and vaccine response in patients receiving eculizumab (Soliris®)
- Informational session:
 - Not anticipating ACIP vote on this topic, appreciate input from ACIP members

Additional Work Group Activities

- Policy Note: Updated Recommendations for Use of MenB-FHbp (Trumenba®) Serogroup B Meningococcal Vaccine – Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices, 2016
 - Published May 19, 2017

Work Group Members

ACIP Members

- David Stephens (Chair)
- Kelly Moore

Ex Officio Members

- Lucia Lee (FDA)
- Anuja Rastogi (FDA)
- Margaret Yacovone (DOD)

CDC Work Group Lead

Jessica MacNeil (CDC/NCIRD)

Liaison Representatives

- Carol Baker (IDSA)
- Susan Even (ACHA)
- Rachel Herlihy (IAC)
- Nneka Holder (SAHM)
- Martin Luta (CSTE)
- Ruth Lynfield (AAP)
- Paul McKinney (APTR)
- Jeffrey Moore (AAFP)
- William Schaffner (NFID)

Consultants

- Mike Brady
- Doug Campos-Outcalt
- Shalini Desai
- Kathleen Harriman
- Mary Healy
- Cody Meissner
- Paul Offit
- Georges Peter
- Lorry Rubin

For more information, contact CDC 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636)
TTY: 1-888-232-6348 www.cdc.gov

The findings and conclusions in this report are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official position of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

