

Hepatitis Vaccines

Art Reingold, M.D.
Chair, Hepatitis Vaccines Work Group

Advisory Committee on Immunization Practices October 25, 2017

ACIP Hepatitis WG Terms of Reference

- Update ACIP recommendations for hepatitis A vaccine
 - ACIP Routine Recommendation for Hepatitis A Vaccine MMWR 2006 May 19;55(RR-7):1-23
 - Update: Prevention of hepatitis A after exposure to hepatitis A virus and in international travelers. Updated recommendations of the ACIP
 MMWR 2007 Oct 19;56(41):1080-4
 - Updated recommendations from the ACIP for use of hepatitis A vaccine in close contacts of newly arriving international adoptees
 MMWR 2009 Sep 18;58(36):1006-7
- Evaluate HEPLISAV-B efficacy and safety

Work Group Considerations

- July 2017 to October 2017
 - Hepatitis A
 - Hepatitis A routine vaccination
 - Hepatitis A post-exposure prophylaxis
 - Hepatitis A vaccination of international travelers
 - Hepatitis A vaccination of pregnant women
 - Hepatitis A outbreaks
 - Homeless as a risk group for hepatitis A
 - Hepatitis B
 - HEPLISAV-B efficacy and safety

Today's Session

- Dynavax HEPLISAV-B
- Work Group considerations: HEPLISAV-B
- Hepatitis A outbreaks

Next Steps

- Present the full updated hepatitis A vaccine statement for vote
- Continue ACIP hepatitis vaccines work group deliberations on adult hepatitis B vaccination
 - GRADE HEPLISAV-B

Hepatitis Work Group Members

ACIP Members

Arthur Reingold (Chair)

Echezona Ezeanolue

Kelly Moore

José Romero

Liaison Representatives

Natali Aziz (ACOG)

Elizabeth Barnett (AAP)

Susan Even (ACHA)

Christine Finley (AIM)

Susan Lett (CSTE)

Amy Middleman (SAHM)

Gregory Poland (ACP)

Pamela Rockwell (AAFP)

David Weber (SHEA)

Matthew Zahn (NACCHO)

Ex Officio Member

Marian Major (FDA)

Consultants

Sharon Balter (LA-DPH)

Robert Frenck (CCHMC)

Kathleen Harriman (CDPH)

Brian McMahon (ANTHC)

David Nace (AMDA)

Jennifer Rosen (NYC-DOH)

Brenna Simons (ANTHC)

Ann Thomas (OR-DHS/OHA)

Jennifer Zipprich (CDPH)

Lead

Noele Nelson

(CDC/Viral Hepatitis Division)

Acknowledgements

NCHHSTP/Division of Viral Hepatitis

- Mona Doshani
- Megan Hofmeister
- Alaya Koneru
- Claudia Vellozzi
- John Ward

NCIRD/Immunization Services Division

ACIP Hepatitis Work Group

- Maria Cano
- Melissa Collier
- Kristina Angelo
- Penina Haber
- Aaron Harris
- Beth Hibbs
- Scott Holmberg
- Ruth Jiles

- David Kim
- Tina Objio
- Sarah Schillie
- Phil Spradling
- Tureka Watson
- Donna Weaver
- Matthew Wise

For more information, contact CDC 1-800-CDC-INFO (232-4636)
TTY: 1-888-232-6348 www.cdc.gov

The findings and conclusions in this report are those of the authors and do not necessarily represent the official position of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.

